2021-2022 Board Slate of Candidates

Board of Directors Announce Slate


A slate of candidates for the 2021-2022 CAMFT Board of Directors is presented to the membership by the CAMFT Nominating Committee: Katie Vernoy (Chair), Carol Campbell, Marty Frankel, and Jeff Kashou.

The 2021-2022 Nominating Committee Slate of Candidates
Qualified leadership is essential to CAMFT’s success. In the exciting years ahead, it is the elected leadership that will shape the future policies and programs of the Association.

In accordance with the Bylaws of the California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists, the Nominating Committee called for applications from our members and interviewed all prospective nominees. Following the interviews, the Nominating Committee has selected those candidates who, in their judgment, best meet the qualifications to effectively serve as Board Members of CAMFT. The Nominating Committee has put forward the following slate:


Lisa Romain, PhD, LMFT

Candidate for President-Elect
(one open position)

Peter Cellarius, LMFT

Candidate for Secretary
(one open position)

Rebecca Hines, AMFT

Candidate for Pre-Licensed Member-at-Large
(one open position)


Clinical Director-At-Large (three open positions)
No Applicants

Given COVID-19 and other difficult circumstances in 2020, CAMFT faced a significant decrease in the number of applications for Board positions received by the deadline. All members who applied for a Board position were moved forward by the Nominating Committee. However, there remain three vacant positions for Clinical Director-At-Large. Anyone interested in serving on the 2021 Board of Directors may apply by petition to be added to the slate of candidates in the election to general membership. If vacancies remain after the election, CAMFT will solicit applications in April/May 2021 for appointment by the Board in early June 2021.

Candidates Added by Petition
CAMFT Bylaws (Article VI, Section C), provides that “any person who is eligible to be elected to the Board of Directors may be included on the ballot by petition. Said petitions shall be delivered to an officer of the Association no later than sixty (60) days prior to the date of election. To be valid, signatures on the petition shall be made within eleven (11) months preceding the next time directors will be elected by members representing at least two (2%) percent of the applicable voting power.” Clinical members must submit a petition with a minimum of 438 signatures. (This number represents 2% of the applicable voting membership on April 18, 2020.) Pre-licensed members must submit a petition with a minimum of 198 signatures. (This represents 2% of the applicable voting membership on April 18, 2020.) Petitions with all signatures must be submitted to the CAMFT Administrative office by 4:30 pm on Monday, January 18, 2021. Apply by Petition.

Your Vote Counts!
The final listing of candidates, including any candidates added by petition, will be available via the CAMFT website by late-January 2021 and published in the February 2021 E-Newsletter.

Remember to GO GREEN to Receive Your Ballot Electronically
CAMFT is continuing to ask members to Go Green to receive electronic ballots and electronic official member communications! If you have already said YES to Going Green—Thank You! For those who have not yet opted to Go Green, check your email for a GO GREEN message from CAMFT. You can find more information about our Go Green campaign, spearheaded by CAMFT President Cathryn Leff, here.

Election ballots will be mailed/emailed to the voting membership by February 22, 2021. Ballots are due on or before March 18, 2021.

Contact CAMFT if you have a change of address to ensure receipt of mailings.